Subscribe for Newsletter
» 16 Steps in Hindu Puja 

16 Steps in Hindu Puja

16 Steps in Hindu PujaInformation related to 16 Steps in Hindu Puja.

Shodashopachara Puja ~ The 16 Steps in a Hindu Puja 

There are numerous ways in which a Hindu worships God. For some Hindus lighting a lamp or simple mediation is the way to communicate with the Supreme Being. For some Hindus, it is chanting mantras and doing elaborate puja to a personal deity. Hindu scriptures define numerous steps that are part of a Hindu Puja.

Here are the Sixteen Steps or Rituals known as known as Shodashopachara Puja:


  1. Seating of the deity
  2. Welcoming of the deity
  3. Offering water to wash the feet
  4. Offering water to wash the hands
  5. Offering water to sip and rinse the mouth
  6. Providing a bath
  7. Offering fresh clothes and decorations
  8. Offering fresh sacred thread
  9. Offering aromatic substance like sandal paste etc
  10. Offering of flowers
  11. Burning incense
  12. Waving lights
  13. Offering food
  14. Offering betel leaves, betel nuts, camphor etc
  15. Prostrations before the deity and circumambulations
  16. Sending off

These are the general steps that are followed. There may be slight variations in some regions.

Posted Comments
"Your posting is absloutley on the point!"
Posted By:  Shalini

Ganesha Prashnawali

Ma Durga Prashnawali

Ram Prashnawali

Bhairav Prashnawali

Hanuman Prashnawali

SaiBaba Prashnawali
Free Numerology
Enter Your Name :
Enter Your Date of Birth :
Dream Analysis
  like Wife, Mother, Water, Snake, Fight etc.
Copyright © All Rights Reserved.
Site By